In 1855, well before the San Pedro Square Market was built the Fallon House, home of Captain Thomas Fallon and his wife Carmel was built. The couple lived in the house for over 20 years. Captain Fallon was the 10th Mayor of San Jose and was well known for his accomplishments. Let's get to know a little more about the lady behind this famous man...
- Carmel Castro Fallon was born July 12th, 1827, the third child of Martina Castro (the family whom Castro Street is named).
- Carmel's mother, Martina was a member of the prominent Castro family and was the first women in California to request a land grant in her own name. She was the grantee of Rancho Soquel, about 35,000 acres on the coastline south of Santa Cruz.
- Carmel married Thomas Fallon, an Irishman in 1848. The Fallon family, including two children sailed to Texas in 1852.
- The Fallon family returned to California, moved to San Jose in 1855 and built a home in which they lived for 22 years. Six children were born in the house.
- In 1876, Carmel discovered her husband and a domestic named Maggie McBride in "compromising circumstances." The next day she filed for divorce, after 27 years of marriage and moved to San Francisco.
- Carmel started over as a business women in San Francisco with $30,000 in gold and property at the northwest corner of Third and Minna where she had The Hotel Carmel built. She also had the Fallon Hotel built at 1693 Market.
- In 1894, Carmel had 1800 Market built and lived there until her death in 1923.
Want to know more about Carmel and the Fallon family? Join one Peralta Adobe & Fallon House tours for a guided journey back in time to experience San Jose before cars, computers and smart phones! Click here for tour information.